• Oulton Park Stage Rally and Fireworks
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Easton flies to top time in warm up

Monday, May 03 2010

Swan Honda's Stuart Easton fought back to the top of the times in a frantic 15 minute warm up session this morning, waiting until the dying seconds to displace pole-sitter Tommy Hill as the countdown to the opening race of the day continues.

Hill looked set to end the session fastest, but the flying Scot waited until the chequered flag was out to displace the Worx Crescent Suzuki rider from the top by 0.259s. The pair had been swapping places at the top several times during the session, but it was Easton that took the advantage going into the opening race of the day.

Ridersmotorcycles.com Ducati's Michael Rutter ran as high as second during the session, but with Easton's improvement dropped to third in the final minutes. Yukio Kagayama also enjoyed a brief spell at the top for the Worx Crescent Suzuki team, but he ended fourth fastest, just ahead of HM Plant Honda's Josh Brookes and MSS Colchester Kawasaki's Gary Mason.

Ryuichi Kiyonari was seventh fastest on the second HM Plant Honda ahead of the returning Tommy Bridewell on the Quay Garage Honda. John Laverty fired his Buildbase Kawasaki to ninth, as team-mate Adam Jenkinson crashed out with three minutes remaining and Chris Walker completed the top ten. David Anthony was the leading Mirror.co.uk BSB - Evo rider in 18th overall for the MIST Suzuki team.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, warm up result:

1. Stuart Easton (Swan Honda) 1m:35.821s
2. Tommy Hill (Worx Crescent Suzuki) +0.259s
3. Michael Rutter (Ridersmotorcycles.com Ducati) +0.571s
4. Yukio Kagayama (Worx Crescent Suzuki) +0.597s
5. Josh Brookes (HM Plant Honda) +0.933s
6. Gary Mason (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +1.083s
7. Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) +1.131s
8. Tommy Bridewell (Quay Garage Honda) +1.587s
9. John Laverty (Buildbase Kawasaki) +1.589s
10. Chris Walker (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +1.753s

The first MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship race starts at 13:00 this afternoon.