• Oulton Park Stage Rally and Fireworks
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
No half measures for Laverty

Monday, May 03 2010

Michael Laverty and the Relentless Suzuki by TAS team will be celebrating tonight after securing their maiden race win in the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship at Oulton Park.

Laverty rode a flawless race in changing conditions to edge out a six second advantage over nearest rival Michael Rutter who took his first podium of the season for the Ridersmotorcycles.com Ducati after a challenging race.

HM Plant Honda's Ryuichi Kiyonari had taken the whole shot off the line from pole position from Tommy Hill and Michael Laverty, but the Relentless Suzuki rider was already on the move on the run to Shell Oils corner to move second down the inside of the championship leader.

Rutter was also on the attack on the opening lap, making up a place from John Laverty to move fourth by the start of the second lap and then he was up to second when he passed Kiyonari on the inside line into Lodge.

Kiyonari fought back on the next lap, passing the Ducati rider into Old Hall but a lap later Rutter retook the advantage again as the pair scrapped it out for second. Kiyo later dropped back to fourth behind John Laverty as Hill worked his way through on the Worx Crescent Suzuki, passing Kiyo at Lodge on the eighth lap and then he edged ahead of the Buildbase Kawasaki rider. Kiyo ran wide on the tenth lap that dropped him further adrift, but he was able to remain fourth after a battle with John Laverty.

Alastair Seeley was able to maintain his sixth place for the Relentless Suzuki team, whilst Tommy Bridewell was able to get the better of the second HM Plant Honda of Josh Brookes for seventh whilst Mirror.co.uk BSB - Evo rider Hudson Kennaugh broke into the top ten in ninth ahead of Adam Jenkinson on the Buildbase Kawasaki.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, race two result:

1. Michael Laverty (Relentless Suzuki by TAS)
2. Michael Rutter (Ridersmotorcycles.com Ducati) +6.00s
3. Tommy Hill (Worx Crescent Suzuki) +11.333s
4. Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) +16.029s
5. John Laverty (Buildbase Kawasaki) +23.590s
6. Alastair Seeley (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) +27.258s
7. Tommy Bridewell (Quay Garage Honda) +30.287s
8. Josh Brookes (HM Plant Honda) +30.283s
9. Hudson Kennaugh (MAR Kawasaki) +32.463s
10. Adam Jenkinson (Buildbase Kawasaki) +54.950s

The next round of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship is at Cadwell Park on 21/22/23 May - don't miss the first visit to the circuit this season! For more information and to book your tickets now click the link below or call 0870 950 9000.