• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Ellison top as Brookes leads Title Fighters

Friday, October 08 2010

Swan Honda's James Ellison toppled Josh Brookes in the second free practice session at Oulton Park in the final minutes, but it remains the HM Plant Honda ace who ends the opening day ahead of his Title Fighter rivals as the countdown to tomorrow's qualifying and opening BSB race continues.

It was a dramatic end to the afternoon as Michael Rutter looked set to put the Ridersmotorcycles.com Ducati at the top of the times, swapping places with Brookes in the early stages, before remaining fastest in the final 20 minutes. Brookes though was on a charge and went to the top with just five minutes remaining, but Ellison fired in a lap to elevate himself up the order in the final three minutes. Rutter meanwhile ended his session with a crash when he tipped off at Hizzy's chicane in the final minute.

Tommy Hill had another steady session to begin with, sitting outside the top five, but as the time ticked away he moved up to third, before improvements from his rivals dropped him to fourth, but he remained ahead of the second HM Plant Honda of Ryuichi Kiyonari in fifth.

Michael Laverty was sixth fastest on the first of the Relentless Suzukis as team-mate Alastair Seeley made improvements from the opening session to move to tenth in the final stages. Gary Mason was inside the top ten for the second consecutive session in seventh for the MSS Colchester Kawasaki team, whilst Yukio Kagayama ran third with just under 20 minutes remaining but ended eighth ahead of Chris Walker.

In the Mirror.co.uk BSB - Evo class Steve Brogan was just one place ahead of title rival Hudson Kennaugh.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, free practice two:

1. James Ellison (Swan Honda) 1m:36.256
2. Josh Brookes (HM Plant Honda) +0.088s
3. Michael Rutter (Ridersmotorcycles.com Ducati) +0.246s
4. Tommy Hill (Worx Crescent Suzuki) +0.327s
5. Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) +0.424s
6. Michael Laverty (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) +0.584s
7. Gary Mason (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +0.641s
8. Yukio Kagayama (Worx Crescent Suzuki) +0.823s
9. Chris Walker (Sorrymate.com SMT Honda) +1.183s
10. Alastair Seeley (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) +1.251s

The final round of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship will take place at Oulton Park (8/9/10 October) and will be the Showdown decider. For more information click the link below or call 0870 950 9000.