• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Derani takes reverse grid British F3 win for Fortec

Saturday, April 07 2012

Pipo Derani has won the second Cooper Tires British F3 Championship race at Oulton Park today (Saturday). The Brazilian started the reversed-grid race fourth and after taking the lead from National Class runner Spike Goddard, his position was protected by a safety car intervention at the halfway stage.

With Hannes Van Asseldonk not classified in the results for race one, Duvashen Padayachee started race two from pole position, with fellow Australian Spike Goddard sharing an all-National Class front row. A poor start for the polesitter handed Goddard the lead as the newer cars raced to head to field, led by Nick McBride. Pipo Derani was just as keen on taking first place, giving Goddard breathing space as they started the second tour of the circuit.

Spots of rain stated to fall as the newer Dallaras, heavily bunched, began to trip over each other. As Goddard led his third lap, Derani, McBride, Pietro Fantin and Harry Tincknell followed and the field circulated as one. Fourth time around the order remained unchanged, even giving Goddard the freedom to run wide at Old Hall unchallenged on lap five!

However Goddard's dreams of winning in a National Class car couldn't last, and Derani led the field to start lap six. McBride, Fantin, Jazeman Jaafar and Harry Tincknell had also demoted him as they crossed the line. Meanwhile McBride fell down the order on the next lap, whilst Also Lynn also succumbed with suspension failure. These developments promoted Carlos Sainz Jr and Jack Harvey to fifth and sixth places at the halfway stage but also neutralised the race, with the safety car called into action.

The order at this stage was Derani, Fantin, Jaafar, Tincknell, Sainz, Harvey, Felix Serralles, Van Asseldonk, Goddard and Fahmi Ilyas. Just one racing lap remained before the chequered flag when the safety car came in, however.

Derani made a good restart as Jaafar challenged Fantin at Old Hall. With many threats but no successful moves made throughout the field, the order remained to the flag, aside from Ilyas, who failed to make the finish. Harvey's eventual sixth place will have provided relief after starting from the penultimate row, however Jaafar's podium finish has given the Malaysian valuable points. Meanwhile front row starters Goddard and Padayachee completed the top ten.

The final British F3 Championship race of the day will take place at 17:00.

Cooper Tires British F3 Championship race two
1, Pipo Derani, BRA, Fortec, +12 Laps
2, Pietro Fantin, BRA, Carlin, +0.850s
3, Jazeman Jaafar, MAS, Carlin, +1.491s
4, Harry Tincknell, GBR, Carlin, +2.693s
5, Carlos Sainz Jr, ESP, Carlin, +3.079s
6, Jack Harvey, GBR, Carlin, +3.511s
7, Felix Serralles, PUR, Fortec, +3.594s
8, Hannes Van Asseldonk, NED, Fortec, +3.952s
9. Spike Goddard, AUS, T-Sport, 6.705s
10, Duvashen Padayachee, AUS, Double R, +9.633s

Tickets for the British GT/F3 Championships at Oulton Park on 6,7 & 9 April are available on the gate from £16, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information, call 0843 453 9000 or click here.