• Oulton Park Stage Rally and Fireworks
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Brilliant Byrne wins thrilling Oulton Park Race 3

Monday, May 07 2012

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne scored his first victory of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship season by winning the final race of the weekend at Oulton Park from Tommy Hill, making him the sixth winner in as many races.

Stuart Easton got off to a flying start on the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki to lead the pack into Old Hall for the first time from Chris Walker, Graeme Gowland and Josh Brookes. The Tyco Suzuki rider though was up to third by the start of the third lap and pushing hard to maintain his run of podium finishes.

Hill and Byrne were fifth and sixth respectively after the opening laps, but the reigning champion put in some determined moves to elevate himself to third by the fifth lap as Byrne continued to barge himself up the order. At the front Easton continued to lead from Brookes and Hill, but the Australian was soon under attack as Hill made a move at Island Bend.

Hill then took the lead at Old Hall on the tenth lap from Easton as Byrne moved to third a lap later as he pushed Brookes back to fourth. Easton then ran wide at Island which gave his Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki team-mate the opportunity he needed as he charged up the inside to take second and then target race leader Hill.

Byrne was shadowing his title rival for several laps before making a pass at Dentons with just three laps remaining, but Hill defended hard to push ahead at Cascdes. Byrne though remained determined and then edged alongside down to Lakeside to take the advantage. He held on to take the win from Hill and Easton who claimed his first podium of the season.

Brookes held on to fourth with Tommy Bridewell scoring the Supersonic BMW another top five finish ahead of Swan Yamaha's Noriyuki Haga in sixth and the lone Samsung Honda of Michael Laverty in seventh. Graeme Gowland, Chris Walker and Alex Lowes rounded out the top ten.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, race three result:

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)
  2. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) +2.612s
  3. Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +5.481s
  4. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +6.093s
  5. Tommy Bridewell (Supersonic BMW) +10.464s
  6. Noriyuki Haga (Swan Yamaha) +13.209s
  7. Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) +13.637s
  8. Graeme Gowland (WFR Honda) +13.865s
  9. Chris Walker (Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki) +18.276s
  10. Alex Lowes (WFR Honda) +18.514s

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship standings after Oulton Park:

  1. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 98
  2. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) 92
  3. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 88
  4. Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 58
  5. Ian Lowry (Padgetts Honda) 52
  6. Alastair Seeley (Tyco Suzuki) 49 

Click here for full race result

The 2012 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship visits the Snetterton 300 circuit on 25/26/27 May. Discounted weekend tickets are available in advance for £31 with free admission for children aged 12 and under. For more information and to book visit www.snetterton.co.uk or call 0843 453 4000.