• Oulton Park Stage Rally and Fireworks
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Byrne becomes most successful MCE BSB rider with Thruxton wins

Sunday, April 14 2013

Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki's Shane 'Shakey' Byrne has become the most successful rider in terms of MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship race wins after securing the second victory of the weekend at Thruxton.

An incident-packed second race got underway with Byrne leading off the line on the opening lap from his team-mate Keith Farmer and Alex Lowes, however the Nissan GT-R Safety Car was deployed at the end of the opening lap as Ryuichi Kiyonari crashed out unhurt at Club, prematurely ending a tough weekend for the triple champion.

The race was resumed and Byrne was able to defend his lead from Lowes whilst Josh Brookes had moved third with Michael Rutter fourth as Farmer had a moment on the exit of Seagrave. James Ellison was charging hard as he fired the Milwaukee Yamaha into third by the seventh lap. Ellison and Lowes then fought hard for the second place after Brookes dropped to fourth and the pair exchanged positions several times before the Nissan GT-R was deployed on the ninth lap after Halsall Racing Kawasaki's Lee Costello crashed out.

As the race got underway again after the safety car period Byrne, Lowes and Ellison looked set to fight it out for the second win of the day however the race was red flagged when Karl Harris and Tommy Bridewell crashed out at Club.

Brookes was forced to settle for fourth as Rutter returned to the top five for the Bathams Honda team as he remained ahead of Farmer. Chris Walker made amends for the disappointment of race one in seventh place whilst Jon Kirkham and James Westmoreland ended the race eighth and ninth for Buildbase BMW. Peter Hickman on the lone Lloyds British GBmoto Honda completed the top ten.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Thruxton, race two result:

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)
  2. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) +0.245s
  3. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.656s
  4. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +0.757s
  5. Michael Rutter (Bathams Honda) +1.819s
  6. Keith Farmer (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +1.908s
  7. Chris Walker (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) +2.173s
  8. Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) +2.489s
  9. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +3.274s
  10. Peter Hickman (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) +3.810s

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship standings after Thruxton:

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 91
  2. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) 76
  3. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) 66
  4. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) 51
  5. Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) 42
  6. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) 27

The next round of the  MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship takes place this May Bank Holiday weekend (4/5/6) at Oulton Park. Advance adult tickets for raceday cost £26 online in advance with children aged 12 and under admitted free. For more information and to book click here or call 0843 453 9000.