• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Brookes and Bridewell take control in final free practice

Saturday, August 09 2014

Josh Brookes fired a warning to his MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship rivals ahead of this afternoon's Datatag qualifying and the opening race at Oulton Park by storming to the top of the times in the final free practice session.

The session again started with Ryuichi Kiyonari taking control initially for the Buildbase BMW team but it was soon Brookes closing in and then slashing his lap time to move ahead. The Australian and Japanese contenders went head to head throughout the final free practice with Brookes emerging on top as the countdown to qualifying begins in Cheshire.

Tommy Bridewell on the second of the Milwaukee Yamahas waited until the final minutes to post the fastest time, however it was only for a matter of moments as Brookes again moved ahead. The Milwaukee Yamahas held the top two positions with Kiyonari holding third when the chequered flag was waved.

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne ended the final session fourth fastest on the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki ahead of Halsall Biker Gear Kawasaki's Jon Kirkham, who crashed unhurt at Old Hall in the final ten minutes.

Bathams BMW were back inside the top ten with Michael Rutter pushing up the order to sixth place ahead of Peter Hickman on the RAF Reserves Honda and Chris Walker. The order changed several times in the closing stages but Jakub Smrz and Dan Linfoot completed the final top ten.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, free practice three:

  1. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 1m:35.356s
  2. Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.443s
  3. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) +0.467s
  4. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.477s
  5. Jon Kirkham (Halsall Biker Gear Kawasaki) +0.856s
  6. Michael Rutter (Bathams BMW) +1.125s
  7. Peter Hickman (RAF Reserves Honda) +1.208s
  8. Chris Walker (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +1.270s
  9. Jakub Smrz (Millsport Ducati) +1.303s
  10. Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +1.327s