• Oulton Park Stage Rally and Fireworks
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Russell romps to Oulton Park win from pole position

Friday, July 18 2014

Lanan Racing's George Russell has secured his fourth win of the year after dominating race one at Oulton Park to stretch his championship lead to 27 points.

Raoul Hyman claimed second after holding off an epic scrap for the podium positions, with Chris Middlehurst third for Mark Godwin Racing after challenging Hyman throughout. Struan Moore closed rapidly on the duo, but was unable to find a way past.

Sennan Fielding was fifth ahead of team mate Will Palmer, with Arjun Maini seventh and Tom Jackson eighth, his best result in F4 so far. Gustavo Lima and Diego Menchaca completed the top-10 runners.

Russell made a good start from pole position, while Hyman was forced to defend from team mate Palmer down to turn one. Russell extended a lead of almost a second on the first lap, while Palmer continued to challenge Hyman across the line, with Middlehurst holding fourth.

Palmer slid down to sixth on lap two, promoting Middlehurst into third while Russell extended his margin to 1.9 seconds.

Russell continued to extend his advantage throughout, eventually winning by over nine seconds, but the major fight was behind with Hyman holding off Middlehurst throughout the race, with the pair separated by less than half a second for the majority of the 12 lap contest.

Moore joined the fight after setting two fastest lap times, and by lap six was less than half a second behind Middlehurst. Crossing the line to start the penultimate lap, the trio crossed the line almost as one, but Hyman did just enough to continue to hold the pair back to claim second and minimise the championship points damage to the unchallenged Russell, while Middlehurst claimed third, just 0.3s behind, and Moore half a second further back.

HHC pair Fielding and Palmer were over a second away from the podium fight, with Maini enjoying an early tussle with Palmer before settling for seventh.

Jackson's eighth place means he will start race two at 10.50am tomorrow from pole position, the first pole for both driver and the Chris Dittmann Racing team in F4. 

Further back, there was a close fight for 15th in the closing laps, with Jordan Albert and Michael Claessens crossing the line side by side on three consecutive laps, with Claessens just taking the position by 0.152s.

Russell, Hyman and Middlehurst received their trophies on the podium from BRDC member and renowned circuit commentator, Ian Titchmarsh.

Speaking after the race, Russell commented: "The first two laps were really difficult. Raoul made quite a good start and challenged me at the first corner and it's difficult at Oulton Park and the first three quarters of a lap were quite hairy!

"Once I got my head down I could just push and extend the lead. I was just pumping the times in every single lap and trying to extend the lead and Oulton Park is not the easiest track in the world. Every lap around Oulton is difficult but I'm really happy to get my fourth win of the year."

BRDC F4 Oulton Park, race one result:

1. George Russell, Lanan Racing, 12 laps
2. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, +9.143s
3. Chris Middlehurst, Mark Godwin Racing, +9.439s
4. Struan Moore, Lanan Racing, +9.921s
5. Sennan Fielding, HHC Motorsport, +10.969s
6. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, +11.776s
7. Arjun Maini, Lanan Racing, +12.734s
8. Tom Jackson, Chris Dittmann Racing, +15.228s
9. Gustavo Lima, Hillspeed, +20.701s
10. Diego Menchaca, Douglas Motorsport, +23.059s