• Oulton Park Stage Rally and Fireworks
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Oulton Park has drivers in a spin as Lanan Racing dominates

Tuesday, July 22 2014

The challenging Oulton Park circuit was made even tougher by the monsoon-like conditions that greeted the drivers of BRDC F4, F3 Cup, Monoposto, Atom Cup, Toyo Tires Racing Saloons, and Toyo Tires Production BMW Championship last weekend.

Lanan Racing stole many of the headlines, finishing on top of no fewer than 11 sessions, including five races. Struan Moore, one of Lanan's F4 triumvirate, began the weekend on top by finishing both free practice sessions as fastest. His weekend ended on a similar high when he took the flag first in race three to add to a brace of fourth place finishes.

Moore's team-mates, Arjun Maini and championship leader George Russell, shared the first two wins, Russell's coming in dominant fashion from pole in race one. Russell's championship rival, Raoul Hyman, picked up a pair of second place finishes before he and Russell collided in a frantic race three.

Will Palmer's superb form continued as the HHC racer's two third places moved him level on points in the standings with second-placed Hyman. Chris Middlehurst's home track was kind to him, and he made the short trip back to Ormskirk after a third place in race one and second place in race three.

Lanan Racing's other championship leader, Toby Sowery of F3 Cup, enjoyed another dominant weekend. Sowery secured pole in tricky conditions, and scampered away in race one to take his seventh win of the season. Henry Chart threatened to deny Sowery an eighth, but a spin at the chicane handed Sowery the victory.

Tristan Cliffe kept the championship battle alive with a brace of second-places, twice taking advantage of Chart spinning. Chart spun from second in race one, surviving to claim third, but was less fortunate in race two as he pirouetted to the back of the pack. He came through to sixth, with Louis Hamilton-Smith completing the rostrum.

Oliver Rae claimed the Trophy 01 Class honours both times, despite a trying weekend. A draining battery left him to coast over the line in seventh place in race one, before a 10-second penalty for a startline indiscretion dropped him back to fourth in the race two results. Rae had spent the race keeping Cliffe at bay in second-place on the road.

Atom Cup regular Paul Donkin claimed his maiden win in the series after both Richard Marler and Andrew Smith spun in the tough conditions to second and third respectively. Smith made amends in race two, beating Donkin by nearly five seconds. Steven Endress completed the podium places.

The Monoposto 2000 races saw six different drivers visit the podium alongside winners Ben Cater and Tony Bishop. Robbie Watts and Neil Harrison joined Cater on the podium in race one and Tony Bishop was flanked by Malcolm Scott (second) and Jonathon Hughes (third). Daniel Hands was unbeaten in the grid's other class, Classic 2000.

In Monoposto Moto/1800/1600 there were double winners throughout. Jason Timms dominated Moto, winning race two by over one minute, and Paul Britten and Andrew Colebrooke claimed the 1600 and 1800 spoils.

The drivers of the Toyo Tires Production BMW Championship and Toyo Tires Racing Saloons had to tackle some of the toughest conditions, with large areas of standing water across much of the circuit. Stuart Waite and Andrew Feakins mastered them best in the Production BMW Championship, winning one race apiece. Karl Catliff doubled-up in the Racing Saloons before hotfooting it to Snetterton to race on Sunday in the MSVR Summer All-Comers race.

Click here to view the full results from TSL.