• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Byrne under 2006 Oulton Park lap record in final free practice

Sunday, May 04 2014

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne proved that the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki team have overcome their issue from yesterday to storm to the top of the times in the final MCE  British Superbike Championship free practice session, lapping under Ryuichi Kiyonari's 2006 lap record to push Josh Brookes to second ahead of Datatag qualifying.

The session started with Byrne determined to make amends after losing out yesterday and he was soon pushing for the top time, against the fastest rider from yesterday, Milwaukee Yamaha's Josh Brookes.

The opening laps saw drama for the Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki team as Chris Walker crashed at Hizzy's unhurt however his bike engulfed in flames causing the session to be red flagged briefly. However the team are now working hard to get the 'Stalker' back out on circuit in time for this afternoon's Datatag Extreme qualifying session. His team-mate James Ellison was third fastest as he held off a hard-charging Ryuichi Kiyonari on the leading Buildbase BMW.

Richard Cooper had another strong showing in fifth on the Anvil Hire TAG Kawasaki to move ahead of Stuart Easton on the second of the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki and Jakub Smrz on the Millsport Ducati. Tommy Bridewell was eighth fastest as he held off Jon Kirkham on the Tsingtao Kawasaki as he broke into the top ten for the first time this weekend and Dan Linfoot completed the top ten.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, free practice three:

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 1m:34.939s
  2. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.607s
  3. James Ellison (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +1.081s
  4. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) +1.511s
  5. Richard Cooper (Anvil Hire TAG Kawasaki) +1.622s
  6. Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +1.658s
  7. Jakub Smrz (Millsport Ducati) +1.697s
  8. Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +1.754s
  9. Jon Kirkham (Tsingtao Kawasaki) +1.846s
  10. Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +2.002s 

For the full result please click here