• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Ellison toppled by Byrne in the final minute of warm up

Monday, May 05 2014

The MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship contenders are building up to the opening race of the day at Oulton Park after a frantic warm up session where Shane 'Shakey' Byrne stole the top spot from James Ellison on his final flying lap.

The positions at the top changed throughout the 15 minute session with Josh Brookes heading the early charge on the Milwaukee Yamaha, before Ellison edged ahead on the Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki. The pair though were shuffled back another position in the closing minutes as Byrne returned to the top of the times on the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki ahead of his pole start for the opening race this afternoon.

Chris Walker was fourth fastest on the second of the Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasakis as he maintained his position ahead of Ryuichi Kiyonari on the first of the Buildbase BMWs, with his team-mate James Westmoreland in ninth ahead of Keith Farmer who completed the top ten.

Tommy Bridewell held his position in the top six on the Milwaukee Yamaha ahead of Jakub Smrz and Stuart Easton, whilst Tyco Suzuki again missed out on the top ten with John Hopkins in thirteenth position.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, warm up result:

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 1m:35.944s
  2. James Ellison (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +0.145s
  3. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.145s
  4. Chris Walker (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +0.372s
  5. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) +0.581s
  6. Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.709s
  7. Jakub Smrz (Millsport Ducati) +0.712s
  8. Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.742s
  9. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +0.778s
  10. Keith Farmer (PR Racing Kawasaki) +0.838s