• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Simpson takes final victory of the year at Oulton Park

Monday, November 10 2014

Stephen Simpson was the winner of the 2014 Neil Howard Stages Rally at Oulton Park on Saturday (8 November), leading from start to finish to deny Graham Coffey a third straight victory.

Kevin Procter (Subara Impreza) leapfrogged Coffey (Ford Fiesta WRC) on the final Super Special of the day to take second, leaving the Manchester-based solicitor to take third place.

With early rain on stages one and two making the circuit slippery, Simpson (Subaru Impreza) set the early pace, taking two of the opening five stages. By contrast, Coffey dropped 11 seconds off the pace.

Stages three and five introduced a water splash and action on the venue's dedicated rally stage, the latter run as a super special stage. This new the layout was christened by rallycross expert Kevin Procter, who defeated stage sponsor Coffey by just four seconds.

Simpson took another three stage victories to go into the final stage in a commanding position, and despite a relatively slow time on the night-time super special, again held on the venue's rally stage, he maintained his gap ahead of the field to take a maiden victory on the event.

Coffey entered the final super special in second place, but was defeated once again by Procter, who jumped ahead of his rival to take the runner-up slot. He was also awarded the inaugural award for 'Best Performer on the Graham Coffey Super Special'.

Class D drivers dominated the top ten, but there were class wins for John Clayton (Vauxhall Corsa - Class A), Lee Farrer (Frod Puma S1600 - Class B), and Julian Jones (Ford Escort - Class C).

The event ended with a spectacular bonfire and firework display, which brought down the curtain on the Oulton Park season.

You can drive a rally car on Oulton Park's special stage with RallyMaster, which will feature the new rear-wheel-drive Toyota GT86 from 2015. For more details call 0843 453 1000 or click here.