• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Plato stays ahead as the BTCC field closes up in practice two

Saturday, June 06 2015

Jason Plato remained ahead of the field in the second Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship session, and although he was unable to match his earlier time, he remains the only person to lap Oulton Park under a minute and 26 seconds today (Saturday).

Andy Priaulx was first to get on the pace, as the WSR team fought to reassert their authority at a track that favours rear-wheel-drive cars. However the Guernseyman's time was soon beaten by the MG of Andrew Jordan, who was lapping at a similar speed to his best from the morning.

Just as with the earlier session, Plato only took a couple of laps to top the session, his second effort three tenths down on his morning time, but considerably faster than his rivals.

There was a brief pause to the action when the red flags were shown at the halfway point, but with all cars returning to the pits, the session was soon underway again.

In the late stages, there was cheer for local team Speedworks as Tom Ingram moved up the order, and for Blackburn's Adam Morgan, who did the same. Both Colin Turkington and Matt Neal recorded fast sector times, but Plato remained in a class of his own at the head of the field.

The top ten order comprised of almost all of the same names from the earlier session, although Josh Cook could only manage the 16th fastest time and was replaced in the list by Morgan. The times were a lot closer, however, and although Plato remained comfortably ahead, a combination of the session leader being unable to match his earlier best, and the rest bunching up meant that the gap from first to tenth shrank from 1.3 seconds to just three-quarters of a second.

BTCC Qualifying will take place at 3:20pm. Click here to view the full session order.

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship Practice two
1, Jason Plato, Team BMR, VW CC, 1:25.968s
2, Andrew Jordan, MG 888 Racing, MG6 GT, +0.344s
3, Andy Priaulx, WSR, BMW 125i M-Sport, +0.385s
4, Tom Ingram, Speedworks, Toyota Avensis, +0.444s
5, Jack Goff, MG 888 Racing, MG6 GT, +0.468s
6, Colin Turkington, Team BMR, VW CC, +0.476s
7, Aron Smith, Team BMR, VW CC, +0.509s
8, Matt Neal, Honda Racing, Civic Type R, +0.624s
9, Adam Morgan, WIX Racing, Mercedes A-Class, +0.728s
10, Gordon Shedden, Honda Racing, Civic Type R, +0.764s

Tickets for the BTCC at Oulton Park on 6/7 June are available in advance from £14 on Saturday and £32 on Sunday, with free entry for children under 13. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.