• Oulton Park Stage Rally and Fireworks
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Showdown decider kicks off at Oulton Park with Brookes on top

Friday, September 04 2015

Milwaukee Yamaha's Josh Brookes stormed to the top of the times in the opening MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship free practice session at Oulton Park - claiming the top position on his final flying lap to displace arch rival Shane 'Shakey' Byrne.

Byrne had bounced back from his recent disappointments to lead the time for most of the session, closely followed by MCE BSB rookie Danny Buchan who proved he is ready to fight for a debut podium in the Superbike class this weekend.

Brookes had been biding his time though and on his final lap he moved to the top of the times, just 0.023s ahead of his title-defending rival and the PBM Kawasaki team. Buchan dropped to fourth in the closing minutes as Tommy Bridewell pushed his way up to third position on the Tyco BMW - the first of the riders battling to secure a Showdown position.

Buchan held off Luke Mossey is fifth position whilst he was coming under pressure from Christian Iddon in sixth place who soared up the order for Bennetts Suzuki. Chris Walker held seventh place on the second of the Be Wiser Kawasakis as he prepares for his milestone 300th race start this weekend.

Peter Hickman, one of the riders in with a chance of a Showdown position set the eighth fastest time ahead of Jack Kennedy and Cadwell Park podium finisher Billy McConnell.

Dan Linfoot was nudged outside the top ten in eleventh as he bids for a position in the Showdown ahead of the returning James Ellison and Stuart Easton, both who completed limited laps in the opening session.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, free practice one:

  1. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 1m:35.556s
  2. Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki) +0.023s
  3. Tommy Bridewell (Tyco BMW) +0.268s
  4. Danny Buchan (Be Wiser Kawasaki) +0.549s
  5. Luke Mossey (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +0.633s
  6. Christian Iddon (Bennetts Suzuki) +0.844s
  7. Chris Walker (Be Wiser Kawasaki) +0.876s
  8. Peter Hickman (RAF Reserves BMW) +0.885s
  9. Jack Kennedy (Team WD-40 Kawasaki) +0.966s
  10. Billy McConnell (Smiths Racing BMW) +1.056

Tickets for the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship at Oulton Park on 4/5/6 September are available on the gate for £10 on Friday, £18 on Saturday and £32 on Sunday.  For more information click  here.