• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • Oulton Park Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
Collard leads from lights-to-flag to claim race three victory at Oulton Park

Monday, May 30 2016

Ricky Collard took his second win of the weekend at Oulton Park and extended his BRDC British Formula 3 Championship lead with victory in the third and final race in Cheshire. He led from lights-to-flag and came home ahead of Douglas Motorsport’s Thomas Randle and Carlin team-mate Colton Herta.

By virtue of setting the fastest lap from across the first two races, Collard started from pole position with stable-mate Herta alongside him on the front-row. Australian Randle headed the second row and as the lights went out he made a stunning getaway, slicing past American Herta almost immediately and then challenging Collard into Old Hall Corner. The championship leader was forced to defend but held on to the position. Herta meanwhile was put under pressure by Randle’s Douglas Motorsport team-mate Enaam Ahmed but fended him off to hold third.

Sean Walkinshaw Racing’s Jan Jonck suffered at the start, dropping from fifth to eighth, losing out to the Double R Racing pairing of Matheus Leist and Enzo Bortoleto, and race two winner Toby Sowery. At the end of the opening lap, the top-three had already broken clear of the rest of the pack, with Collard, Randle and Herta 1.5s up the road from the group headed by Ahmed.

Collard was pushing hard at the front and after lap six had his lead over one second from Randle. The Douglas man in turn was managing his advantage over Herta behind, a gap of nearly one second opening up between the pair. Further back, Lanan Racing’s Akhil Rabindra lost out, dropping to 16th from 12th, with Thomas Maxwell, Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Tarun Reddy and Ben Hingeley the beneficiaries.

At the halfway point, Collard extended his lead to 1.270s and continued to edge away from Randle as he in turn fell into the clutches of Herta. On lap 14, Herta closed right up on the Australian, the gap at the line just 0.3s but the Douglas Motorsport driver responded, putting in a fast lap on the next circuit to move away from the American and out of range for an attack.

Enaam Ahmed meanwhile was coming under pressure from Brazilian Matheus Leist. The Double R car was all over the gearbox of the Douglas driver and, looked to the outside several times into Old Hall Corner in an attempt to find a way past but couldn't quite get it done. He then dropped back as the race headed into its closing stages, with Ahmed holding on to fourth.

The final few laps were completed without incident and Collard eventually saw the chequered flag 1.854s clear of Randle with Herta completing the podium in third. Enaam Ahmed took fourth ahead of Leist, Bortoleto and Sowery. Jan Jonck finished in eighth with Quinlan Lall and Sisa Ngebulana completing the top-10.

With his third victory of the year, Collard has extended his lead in the overall standings to 37 points ahead of Thomas Randle. Matheus Leist is now in third place with Toby Sowery fourth and Enaam Ahmed fifth.

BRDC British Formula 3 – Oulton Park – Race Three Provisional Result

1. Ricky Collard, Carlin, 18 Laps
2. Thomas Randle, Douglas Motorsport, +1.854s
3. Colton Herta, Carlin, +2.802s
4. Enaam Ahmed, Douglas Motorsport, +12.852s
5. Matheus Leist, Double R Racing, +13.529s
6. Enzo Bortoleto, Double R Racing, +16.409s
7. Toby Sowery, Lanan Racing, +16.862s
8. Jan Jonck, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +17.381s
9. Quinlan Lall, Chris Dittmann Racing, +18.218s
10. Sisa Ngebulana, HHC Motorsport, +25.640s
11. Aleksanteri Huovinen, Double R Racing, +26.249s
12. Thomas Maxwell, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +27.250s
13. Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Chris Dittmann Racing, +27.760s
14. Tarun Reddy, Fortec Motorsports, 28.457s
15. Ben Hingeley, HHC Motorsport, +33.182s
16. Akhil Rabindra, Lanan Racing, +34.239s
17. Eugene Denyssen, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +43.005s
18. Ameya Vaidyanathan, Carlin, +44.006s
19. Jeremy Wahome, Chris Dittmann Racing, +44.635s
20. Al Faisal Al Zubair, Fortec Motorsports, +48.876s
21. Ali Al Khalifa, Hillspeed, +55.211s