• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Jordan beats Neal to BTCC race one win at Oulton Park

Sunday, May 21 2017

Andrew Jordan won his second Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship race of the year at Oulton Park today (Sunday), beating pole sitter Matt Neal by just under three tenths of a second, whilst title contenders Tom Ingram and Colin Turkington failed to score points in a race characterised by a frenetic battle for third place.

At the start, Jordan used his rear-wheel-drive traction to take the lead into Old Hall, with Neal and Turkington slotting in behind. Further back, Adam Morgan tangled with Ant Whorton Eales at the hairpin and Jack Goff and Ingram clashed.

On lap two, Moffat grabbed third place from Turkington at the hairpin, the pair followed by Ash Sutton, Gordon Shedden, Mat Jackson, Rob Collard and a squabbling Josh Cook and Jake Hill, who initially seemed to be reprising their Thruxton falling-out.

The soft-tyred Jordan headed off into the distance, followed by Neal, whilst third place became a hotly-contested position. A heavily-ballasted Turkington was having to defend strongly from Sutton, but with Moffat holding both up, the Subaru was through into Knickerbrook on lap seven. Naturally this compressed the field, and both Jackson and Collard used this to demote Shedden.

On lap ten, Moffat ran wide on the exit of the hairpin, the Scotsman then ran Sutton off the track on the run to Hilltop. The Subaru man kept his composure, however, and in a fine move at Old Hall, ran around the outside of the Mercedes to take third place. Moffat then had to stop Turkington on the run to Cascades and Jackson lined up to attack the BMW.

On lap 12, Turkington and Moffat collided at Lodge, and the BMW slowed on the run to the line. Jackson then attacked Moffat at the hairpin a lap later, running wide and letting Collard through in the process as Cook almost shoved Shedden out of the race at Knickerbrook.

On the final lap, Neal caught Jordan, whose tyres were now past their best, and all the way round the lap edged in, drawing almost level on the run to the flag, but could not pass the BMW. Sutton finished a relatively lonely third, with Moffat hanging on from Collard and Jackson.

The second BTCC race of the day will take place at 2.52pm.

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship Race One
1, Andrew Jordan, BMW Pirtek Racing, BMW 125i M-Sport,  15 Laps
2, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing, Honda Civic Type R, +0.284s
3, Ash Sutton, Adrian Flux Subaru Racing, Subaru Levorg, +11.987s
4, Aiden Moffat, Laser Tools Racing, Mercedes A-Class, +17.642s
5, Rob Collard, Team BMW, BMW 125i M-Sport, +18.750s
6, Mat Jackson, Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo, Ford Focus, +19.325s
7, Gordon Shedden, Halfords Yuasa Racing, Honda Civic Type R, +20.259s
8, Josh Cook, Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport, Ford Focus, +20.561s
9, Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport, Toyota Avensis, +21.469s
10, Jake Hill, TAG Racing, VW CC, 22.046s

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship Standings after round 10 of 30
1, Tom Ingram, 131
2, Gordon Shedden, 123
3, Rob Collard, 114
4, Colin Turkington, 112
5, Adam Morgan, 96
6, Matt Neal, 92

Raceday tickets for the BTCC at Oulton Park on Sunday 21 May are available on the gate for £34 on Sunday, with free entry for under-13s. For more information, call 0843 453 9000 or click here.