• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
Matt Neal tops second BTCC practice at Oulton Park

Saturday, May 20 2017

Triple champion Matt Neal headed the second practice session ahead of this weekend's Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship rounds at Oulton Park today (Saturday).

In the damp conditions that began the 40-minute session, the previously struggling cars of Jason Plato and Mat Jackson headed the times early on. With Dan Lloyd then setting the pace and the cars of James Cole and Stephen Jelley also in the top ten, the competitive order appeared to have been turned on its head.

Ash Sutton took over at the top of the times as the session approached its halfway point, but was beaten by Colin Turkington's BMW. The double champion deliberately ran on the wet inside line along the pit straight to keep his grooved tyres in good condition, but it was beginning to look as though a dry line may emerge, heavy rain fell and the pitlane began to fill with cars.

Between showers James Cole posted the session's fastest lap before the track was drenched once more. Despite this, Matt Neal found a quarter of a second over Cole's time to head the order. With less than ten minutes remaining, the sun briefly appeared, but with plenty of standing water on the track, no change at the top of the order was forthcoming, Neal's benchmark time over ten seconds slower than Andrew Jordan's morning best.

Behind Neal, Cole dropped no further than second place, completing a strong performance, and he headed the BMWs of Turkington and Rob Collard. Ash Sutton was fifth, and with Plato also in the top ten, it was a good session for Subaru. Lloyd held on for sixth place, ahead of Cook and practice one pacesetter Jordan, whilst Jeff Smith completed the top ten.

Qualifying for tomorrow's opening race is scheduled to take place at 3.50pm.

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship Practice Two
1, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing, Honda Civic Type R, 1:37.051s
2, James Cole, Adrian Flux Subaru Racing, Subaru Levorg, +0.249s
3, Colin Turkington, Team BMW, BMW 125i M-Sport, +0.296s
4, Rob Collard, Team BMW, BMW 125i M-Sport, +0.331s
5, Ash Sutton, Adrian Flux Subaru Racing, Subaru Levorg, +0.398s
6, Dan Lloyd, MG Racing RCIB Insurance, MG6GT, +0.402s
7, Josh Cook, Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport, Ford Focus, +0.404s
8, Andrew Jordan, BMW Pirtek Racing, BMW 125i M-Sport, +0.419s
9, Jason Plato, Adrian Flux Subaru Racing, Subaru Levorg, +0.616s
10, Jeff Smith, Eurotech, Honda Civic Type R, +0.656s

Tickets for the BTCC at Oulton Park on 20/21 May are available on the gate for £15 on Saturday and £34 on Sunday, with free entry for under-13s. For more information, call 0843 453 9000 or click here.