• Oulton Park Gold Cup
  • British Superbikes - Oulton Park
  • FIA World Rally Championship Special Stage - Oulton Park
  • Oulton Park Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
  • MSV Trackdays
BRDC British F3 pair confirmed as finalists for McLaren Autosport BRDC Award

Wednesday, October 03 2018

BRDC British F3 drivers Tom Gamble and Jamie Caroline have been confirmed as finalists for the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.

The duo, both with two wins to their name this year, are joined as award finalists by Formula Renault Eurocup leader Max Fewtrell and British F4 champion Kiern Kewiss.

The quartet will undergo fitness and simulator sessions over two days before a two-day test at Silverstone in MSV Formula 2, McLaren GT3 and Ligier LMP3 cars.

The award winner, announced at the Autosport Awards ceremony in London on 2 December will receive a McLaren F1 test and full membership to the British Racing Drivers' Club as part of one of the biggest prize packages in world motorsport.

Gamble, a British F3 winner at Rockingham and Silverstone this year commented: "The Award was definitely in my mind. It's fantastic to be part of - some of the people that have won it have gone on to achieve a lot in motorsport.

"I'm looking forward to the F2 car, with the downforce. Going from the Ginetta Junior to BRDC British F3 was massive so I can't imagine what the F2 car will be like. I'll have to do some neck training!"

Caroline, who has participated in selected British F3 rounds and won at Spa Francorchamps and Brands Hatch added: "The Award wasn't on my radar - I'm more surprised getting in this year than I would have been last year because I've had such little seat time, it's been my hardest season in motorsport.

"I can't thank the BRDC enough for the support it's given me this year and this is another lifeline. I'm looking forward to the F2 car, but the prototype will be cool too and the GT3 should be fun."

BRDC British F3 has a strong track record in the award, with 2016 race winner Lando Norris winning that year's prize, while 2017 champion Enaam Ahmed was a nominee last year. BRDC F4 Champions George Russell and Will Palmer were also award winners, in 2014 and '15 respectively.

Other previous award winners include David Coulthard, Dario Franchitti, Anthony Davidson and Jenson Button.

For more information on the BRDC British F3 Championship, visit www.britishf3.com