• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • Oulton Park Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive at Oulton Park
Ray hangs on to top spot as Haslam wins BSB race one

Monday, May 07 2018

Hot-shot Bradley Ray remains top of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship table despite finishing fourth in race one at Oulton Park in the blistering Bank Holiday heat this afternoon. The race was won by Leon Haslam, with Jake Dixon in second and Shane Byrne third.

Haslam started on row two of the grid but took the lead on lap seven and held off Dixon's challenge to take his second win of the season in a hectic race that saw seven riders crash out. He starts race two in pole position, with Jake Dixon and Glenn Irwin joining him on the front row.

Reigning champion Shane 'Shakey' Byrne starts on row two with Ray and Jason O'Halloran.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, Race 1 result:

  1. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki)
  2. Jake Dixon (RAF Regular & Reserves Kawasaki) +1.624s
  3. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) +6.224s
  4. Bradley Ray (Buildbase Suzuki) +10.170s
  5. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +14.699s
  6. Josh Brookes (McAMS Yamaha) +15.786s
  7. Danny Buchan (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) +18.745s
  8. Tommy Bridewell (Movuno.com Halsall Racing Suzuki) +21.043s
  9. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) +21.290s
  10. Richard Cooper (Buildbase Suzuki) +21.568s

Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings after Oulton Park Race 1:

  1. Bradley Ray (Buildbase Suzuki) 92
  2. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 90
  3. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) 85
  4. Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) 48
  5. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) 43
  6. Jake Dixon (RAF Regular & Reserves Kawasaki) 39