• Drive!
  • BSB Test Day
  • Stage Rally
  • British Superbikes
  • BTCC
  • MSV Trackdays
  • Oulton Park Driving Experiences
  • 2021 MSV Season Passes
Frederick and Simmons claim British F3 poles at Oulton Park

Saturday, April 20 2019

Carlin's Kaylen Frederick claimed the first pole position of the season in qualifying at Oulton Park this morning, as the American topped a Carlin 1-2 in the 20 minute session. 

Frederick's time, set with seven minutes of the session elapsed was enough to put him 0.169s ahead of his British team mate Clement Novalak, who had set a series of times to put him on provisional pole early in the session, as he looked to replicate his qualifying effort from 2018. 

Chris Dittmann Racing's Ayrton Simmons was third fastest, heading a string of cars separated by tiny margins. Simmons was 0.035s off Novalak, and 0.054s ahead of Fortec Motorsport's Johnathan Hoggard, who was one of few drivers to improve their times in the final half of the session. Simmons' second fastest time was good enough to put him on pole for race three, thanks to the new qualifying regulations. 

Douglas Motorsport's Ulysse De Pauw will line up fifth on the grid and set a time 0.085s off Hoggard's effort, and just 0.009s clear of team mate, reigning British F4 champion Kiern Jewiss. 

Neil Verhagen was the top Double R driver in seventh ahead of Hillspeed's Sasakorn Chaimongkol, who was just 0.044s off Verhagen's effort. Lucas Petersson and Manuel Maldonado completed a top-10 for Carlin and Fortec respectively, with the top-10 covered by 0.793s. 

Hampus Ericsson (Double R) and Nazim Azman (Chris Dittmann Racing) were also within a second of the pole time in 11th and 12th places, with Douglas Motorsport's Benjamin Pedersen just over a second off pole in 13th.

Pavan Ravishankar (Double R), Kris Wright (Fortec) and Josh Mason (Lanan) will complete the grid line-up for race one in 14th, 15th and 16th places respectively. The first race of the season is due to start at 14.40.

The race three grid, now decided by second fastest times from each driver in qualifying will see Simmons on pole ahead of Hoggard, with Novalak third and Frederick fourth. The race three grid is even tighter than race one, with just 0.098s covering the front two rows on the grid, 0.829s covering the top-13 runners based on second fastest times. The full race three grid is shown below the qualifying result. 

BRDC British F3 Championship, Oulton Park Qualifying result:

1. Kaylen Frederick, Carlin, 1m30.564s
2. Clement Novalak, Carlin, +0.169s
3. Ayrton Simmons, Chris Dittmann Racing, +0.204s
4. Johnathan Hoggard, Fortec Motorsports, +0.258s
5. Ulysse De Pauw, Douglas Motorsport, +0.343s
6. Kiern Jewiss, Douglas Motorsport, +0.352s
7. Neil Verhagen, Double R Racing, +0.548s
8. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, +0.592s
9. Lucas Petersson, Carlin, +0.696s
10. Manuel Maldonado, Fortec Motorsports, +0.793s
11. Hampus Ericsson, Double R Racing, +0.933s
12. Nazim Azman, Chris Dittmann Racing, +0.993s
13. Benjamin Pedersen, Douglas Motorsport, +1.012s
14. Pavan Ravishankar, Double R Racing, +1.257s
15. Kris Wright, Fortec Motorsports, +2.270s
16. Josh Mason, Lanan Racing, +2.368s

BRDC British F3 Championship, race three grid:

1. Ayrton Simmons, Chris Dittmann Racing, 1m30.877s
2. Johnathan Hoggard, Fortec Motorsports, +0.070s
3. Clement Novalak, Chris Dittmann Racing, +0.075s
4. Kaylen Frederick, Carlin, +0.098s
5. Kiern Jewiss, Douglas Motorsport, +0.186s
6. Neil Verhagen, Double R Racing, +0.321s
7. Ulysse De Pauw, Douglas Motorsport, +0.355s
8. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, +0.425s
9. Manuel Maldonado, Fortec Motorsports, +0.505s
10. Lucas Petersson, Carlin, +0.590s
11. Nazim Azman, Chris Dittmann Racing, +0.708s
12. Benjamin Pedersen, Douglas Motorsport, +0.716s
13. Hampus Ericsson, Double R Racing, +0.829s
14. Pavan Ravishankar, Double R Racing, +1.036s
15. Kris Wright, Fortec Motorsports, +1.961s
16. Josh Mason, Lanan Racing, +2.059s

For more information about the BRDC British F3 Championship, visit the official website www.britishf3.com