• The Lodge at Oulton Park
  • Oulton Park Supercar Pageant
  • Tunerfest North - Oulton Park
  • Oulton Park Gold Cup
  • MSV Trackdays
Bennetts BSB 2021: The picture so far

Thursday, March 04 2021

The grid for the 2021 Bennetts British Superbike Championship is shaping up well ahead of the championship's scheduled triple-header opener at the end of May, with a thrilling grid of race-winning riders and talents from across the globe confirmed.

The entry so far is spearheaded by reigning champion Josh Brookes, twice a winner of the most prestigious crown in British two-wheeled motorsport. Brookes will once again race for the PBM-run Visiontrack Ducati squad, alongside Christian Iddon who enjoyed a race-winning breakthrough season with the outfit in 2020.

Other strong rider pairings to look out for on the 2021 grid will include McAMS Yamaha's unchanged duo of Jason O'Halloran, another Australian, and Tarran Mackenzie, both of whom took the title chase into the closing stages of the season last year.

Honda's Glenn Irwin slipped to fourth in the final standings last season, after leading for much of the campaign. The Northern Irishman has been retained by Honda for another tilt at the title this year, and he's joined by exciting Japanese prospect Ryo Mizuno who is set to contest his first season in Britain.

Glenn's brother Andrew Irwin shifts from Honda to SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad, where he will be aiming to recapture the form that took him to three race wins at Donington Park last year. He's joined in a race-winning pairing by Danny Buchan.

Other race-winning riders on the grid will include Dan Linfoot at TAG Racing Honda, Luke Mossey at DB Race Team Kawasaki, Bradley Ray and Kyle Ryde at Rich Energy OMG BMW, plus Tommy Bridewell at Oxford Products Racing Ducati.

Another winning entrant is Peter Hickman, who is set to race for the new FHO Racing BMW squad alongside Xavi Fores. Buildbase Suzuki has plenty of pedigree in its rider line-up too, with 2015 Moto3 World Champion Danny Kent paired with Gino Rea, himself a former Grand Prix level racer.

Other confirmed competitors for the new season include Dean Harrison, Ryan Vickers, Lachlan Epis, Brian McCormack, Lee Jackson, Brad Jones, Bjorn Estment, Joe Francis, Josh Owens, Rory Skinner and Storm Stacey.

For more information about the Bennetts British Superbike Championship, click here.