• The Lodge at Oulton Park
  • British Touring Cars - Oulton Park
  • Oulton Park Supercar Pageant
  • MSV Trackdays
Bennetts BSB race 3: Thriller for Jackson at Oulton Park

Monday, May 02 2022

FS-3 Kawasaki's Lee Jackson stormed to a maiden Bennetts British Superbike Championship victory in the final race of the weekend at Oulton Park.

Jackson started fifth on the grid, but made strong early progress before engaging in battle with Tommy Bridewell's Oxford Ducati.

Bridewell passed Jackson at Hislops on lap eight and then began closing down on double winner Bradley Ray, who had claimed the first two wins of the weekend, and led the majority of the third contest.

Bridewell passed Ray on lap 14 through Island Bend, and Jackson followed suit at Knickerbrook just a few corners later.

But Bridewell was unable to make good his escape, with Jackson powering past with a daring move at Shell Oils a lap later, and then pulled clear to claim a popular win.

Jackson finished nearly three seconds clear of the pack with Bridwell holding off a late challenge from Rich Energy OMG Yamaha's Ray on the line.

Jackson's teammate Rory Skinner was fourth ahead of Leon Haslam's VisionTrack Kawasaki, with Jason O'Halloran sixth for McAMS Yamaha.

Glenn Irwin (Honda) and Josh Brookes (MCE Ducati) were seventh and eighth, with Peter Hickman (FHO BMW) and Kyle Ryde (Rich Energy OMG Yamaha) completing the top-10.

Ray's superb results across the weekend means he takes the championship lead to Donington, and was awarded the winner of the Milwaukee Race of the North, and remains in with a shout of claiming £25,000 at Donington Park should he win all three races in the East Midlands.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park race three result:
1. Lee Jackson, FS-3 Racing Kawasaki, 18 laps
2. Tommy Bridwell, Oxford Products Racing Ducati, +2.909s
3. Bradley Ray, Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha, +3.036s
4. Rory Skinner, FS-3 Racing Kawasaki, +5.596s
5. Leon Haslam, VisionTrack Ducati, +5.841s
6. Jason O'Halloran, McAMS Yamaha, +6.741s
7. Glenn Irwin, Honda Racing UK, +9.594s
8. Josh Brookes, MCE Ducati Racing Team, +9.762s
9. Peter Hickman, FHO Racing BMW, +9.897s
10. Kyle Ryde, Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha, +13.468s